* Built c. 1838 by William M. Burwell, son of Thomas Jefferson's personal secretary
* Home to only two families, Burwell and Ballard, for almost 150 years
* Purchased by J.W. Ballard in 1906 after the death of Miss Lettie Burwell
* Acquired by The Avenel Foundation in 1985
Massive restoration, made possible by grants from foundations, funds from the state, and support from loyal donors, has occurred since the 1985 acquisition up to the present and will continue into the future.
Avenel has the feel of both the Federal and Greek Revival architecture of its time. The two-story brick home originally sat on close to seventy acres and was a focal point for both the social and political scene. Avenel is one of Bedford's crown jewels that continues to make history each and every day.
Avenel is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Virginia Landmarks Register.
The Avenel Foundation
The Avenel Foundation is composed of community volunteers whose mission is "to rescue, preserve, and protect Historic Avenel, a Bedford legacy, and to make this museum house, a unique landmark in Virginia, available for educational, social, business and other appropriate community uses."
The foundation is managed by a volunteer board of directors, who meet ten times a year.
With financial support from local businesses, the foundation offers events for the community such as a traditional fun Derby Day party, health-related events, activities for children, a Luau, an Oktoberfest, community fairs, and parties in December.
The foundation employs full and part-time staff as needed.