Visitor Information
 
Home
Visitor Info
Facility Rental
History
Contributions
Event Calendar
Bedford Links

   
The original plantation known as Avenel was built circa 1838 by William M. Burwell and his wife, Frances Steptoe Burwell.

Located in the heart of the city of Bedford. Avenel has been the centerpiece of social, cultural, and political life for over 150 years. Avenel is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Virginia Landmarks Register.
 
 
 
In 1906, Avenel was purchased from the Burwell family by J.W. Ballard. The home remained in the Ballard family until 1985 when it was purchased by the Avenel Foundation. The foundation is a non-profit organization formed by a group of local businessmen and women whose mission was to rescue, restore, preserve and protect historic Avenel, a Bedford legacy and to make this unique landmark available for educational, social, business and other appropriate community uses. Almost 200 years have and the vision has remained. Avenel is one of Bedford's crown jewels that continues to make history each and every day.

Directions

 

 
 Click for MapQuest Details From Roanoke take 460 East to downtown Bedford. At the first traffic light, turn left and go under the railroad brige and bear right up Bedford Avenue. Go two blocks to Avenel Avenue. Turn Left onto Avenel Avenue. The home is on the left..
From Lynchburg take 221 West to Bedford Middle School (corner of Longwood Avenue and Peaks of Otter) Turn right onto Peaks Street. Go one block and turn left onto Avenel Avenue. The home is on the right.
From Smith Mountain Lake take 122 North to West Main Street in Bedford. Turn left onto West Main Street, then right at the traffice light. Go under the railway bridge and bear right up Bedford Avenue. Go two blocks to Avenel Avenue. Turn Left onto Avenel Avenue. The home is on the left..